## NOTIFICATION NO. 3/2011-FTD-II [F.NO.500/96/97-FTD-II]

DATED 10-1-2011

WHEREAS the annexed Agreement among the Governments of SAARC (South Asian Association for Regional Cooperation) Member States comprising the People's Republic of Bangladesh, the Kingdom of Bhutan, the Republic of India, the Republic of Maldives, the Kingdom of Nepal, the Islamic Republic of Pakistan and the Democratic Socialist Republic of Sri Lanka for the avoidance of double taxation and mutual administrative assistance in tax matters signed in Dhaka, Bangladesh on the 13th day of November, 2005 shall come into force on the 19th day of May, 2010, being the thirtieth day after the notification dated 19th April, 2010 issued by SAARC Secretariat regarding completion of all formalities, including ratification, wherever applicable, by all Member States, in accordance with Article 16 of the said Agreement;

NOW, THEREFORE, in exercise of the powers conferred by section 90 of the Income-tax Act, 1961 (43 of 1961), the Central Government hereby directs that all the provisions of the said Agreement shall be given effect to in the Union of India with effect from the 1st day of April, 2011.